LEAN Practise Logo

Becoming agile is one thing.
Staying agile is quite another.

Steampunk economics and agile leadership

Steampunk as a literary style is based on ideas of authors like Jules Verne and H.G.Wells, who described future technology from the point of view of their time at the beginning of industrialisation in the Victorian era. The driving force of the time is steam – so steampunk books, films and TV series describe futuristic technology based on steam engines, mechanical gears and high-precision clockworks.

Steampunk is surrounded by a very special technology-loving romanticism. Friends of steampunk dress in Victorian dresses and suits, wear aviator or welder’s goggles, copper jewellery and walking sticks, and cultivate 19th century manners.

In Jules Verne’s classic novel “From the Earth to the Moon” (1865), Verne describes the construction of a cannon to shoot a hollow projectile filled with people onto the moon. Of course, no one at NASA considered building a cannon to shoot people to the moon. But let’s imagine for a moment that this 19th century idea had actually been advanced. Maybe then we would have huge, kilometre-long cannons all over the world with which to either shoot projectiles into orbit or even a projectile at another country. Then jet engines might never have been invented and civil aviation would be in airships. People who talk about faster-than-sound flying machines would be crackpots because one simply could not imagine an alternative to the current status quo. 

Steampunk does not only take place in technology, however, but also in basic economic assumptions. These are largely based on insights and findings from the 19th century.

The community of managers and top executives have developed a habitus without which one cannot make it to the steering wheel of the steamship. One recruits from a self-similar pool of people. If you want to get in, you have to have or adopt this similarity – this applies equally to women and men.  The problem is the trained understanding of the people and the suitably learned set of methods.

Agile Leadership workshop programme

Agile Leadership & Self-Organizing Teams

totalSDI Team TriangleModern organisations require a new way of thinking. Modern organisations require new leadership concepts. Innovation-driven companies need flat hierarchies and a constructive error culture. The time of perfectionism and zero-error tolerance is over. This training conveys the values and basic attitude of an agile leader whose goal is to increase the performance of agile teams. With the Strength Deployment Inventory (SDI ®), a tool is also taught that shows the possibilities of using personal strengths to improve relationships with other people and to staff self-organised teams with the right personalities.

 

Agile methods - Eliciting requirements in an agile way

Backlog, optional work, pool – whatever you call requirements – in many organisations people only look at the delivery and implementation of requirements. But where do the features, epics and stories actually come from? How can you build an agile innovation culture and make sure you always have enough good ideas in the pipe?

In this workshop, we’ll look at the upstream – the process and methods that help us identify customer-centric requirements and prepare them in a way that conserves resources.

You will learn to identify requirements in a customer-oriented way and look at the desirability – what does my customer actually want? Then you look at the economic viability of good ideas and learn how to design a business model in the agile world. Finally, you look at feasibility, learn about prototyping strategies and iteratively design an MVP – Minimum Viable Product. For visualisation, you learn to use Upstream Kanban and thus control the entire innovation process.

 

LEAN Thinking - Agile Mindset - a thinking workshop

LEAN Agile Thinking literally turns the conventional understanding of planning, forecasting and leadership on its head.

This thinking workshop takes an intensive look at the essence of lean thinking, the lean and learning organisation and the agile mindset derived from it. New Work, agility and self-organisation are not methods, but an attitude.

We look at what LEAN principles actually are and how they are expressed in an organisation. We look at systems thinking because local optimisation usually leads to global sub-optimisation. We compare customer orientation with customer centricity and think about value creation in the organisation. We look at the factors that make our organisation a learning organisation, deal with the efficient use of resources, and evolutionary and sudden change. We learn methods that we can immediately use actively in our own organisation – from structured problem solving and visual management to value stream and workflow modelling.

LEAN Practise Logo
Agil werden ist eine Sache.
Agil bleiben eine ganz andere.
Steampunk Ökonomie und agile Führung

Steampunk als literarische Stilrichtung basiert auf Ideen von Autoren wie Jules Verne und H.G.Wells, die zukünftige Technik aus der Sicht ihrer Zeit zu Beginn der Industrialisierung im viktorianischen Zeitalter beschrieben. Das Antriebsmittel der Zeit ist Dampf – so wird im Steampunk Büchern, Filmen und Fernsehserien eine futuristische Technologie basierend auf Dampfmaschinen, mechanischen Getrieben und hochpräzisen Uhrwerken beschrieben.

Den Steampunk umweht eine ganz besondere Technologie verliebte Romantik. Freunde des Steampunks kleiden sich in viktorianische Kleider und Anzüge, tragen Flieger- oder Schweißerbrillen, Kupferschmuck und Spazierstöcke und pflegen die Umgangsformen des 19. Jahrhunderts.

In Jules Vernes klassischem Roman „Von der Erde zum Mond“ (1865) beschreibt Verne den Bau einer Kanone, um ein mit Menschen besetztes Hohlprojektil auf den Mond zu schießen. Natürlich hat niemand bei der NASA den Bau einer Kanone erwogen, um Menschen zum Mond zu schießen. Stellen wir uns aber kurz mal vor, diese Idee aus dem 19. Jahrhundert sei tatsächlich vorangetrieben worden. Vielleicht hätten wir dann überall auf der Welt riesige, kilometerlange Kanonen, mit denen man entweder Projektile in einen Orbit oder auch ein Projektil auf ein anderes Land ballern kann. Dann wären Düsentriebwerke vielleicht nie erfunden worden und die zivile Fliegerei würde in Luftschiffen stattfinden. Menschen, die von Fluggeräten schneller als der Schall sprächen, wären Spinner, weil man sich eine Alternative zum gängigen Status Quo einfach nicht vorstellen könnte.

Steampunk Ökonomie - BuchSteampunk findet aber nicht nur in der Technik statt, sondern auch in wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Grundannahmen. Die basieren nämlich weitgehend auf Einsichten und Erkenntnissen des 19. Jahrhunderts.

Die Community der Manager und Top-Manager haben einen Habitus entwickelt, ohne den man es nicht an das Steuerrad des Dampfers schafft. Man rekrutiert sich aus einem selbstähnlichen Pool von Menschen. Wer da rein will, muss diese Ähnlichkeit haben oder annehmen – das gilt für Frauen und Männer gleichermaßen.  Das Problem ist das antrainierte Verständnis der Personen und der dazu passend erlernte Methodenkoffer.

Agile Leadership Workshop Programm

Agile Leadership & Self-Organizing Teams
Moderne OrgtotalSDI Team Triangleanisationen erfordern eine neue Art des Denkens. Moderne Organisationen bedürfen neuer Führungskonzepte. Innovationsgetriebene Unternehmen brauchen flache Hierarchien und eine konstruktive Fehlerkultur. Die Zeit des Perfektionismus und Null-Fehler-Toleranz ist vorbei. Dieses Training vermittelt die Werte und Grundhaltung einer agilen Führungspersönlichkeit, deren Ziel die Steigerung der Leistungsfähigkeit agiler Teams ist. Mit dem Strength Deployment Inventory (SDI ®) wird ferner ein Tool vermittelt, das Möglichkeiten aufzeigt persönliche Stärken zur Verbesserung der Beziehung zu anderen Menschen einzusetzen und selbst-organisierte Teams mit den richtigen Persönlichkeiten zu besetzen.

 

Agile Methoden - Anforderungen agil erheben

Backlog, optionale Arbeit, Pool – wie auch immer man die Anforderungen bezeichnet – in vielen Organisationen schaut man nur auf die Lieferung und Umsetzung von Anforderungen. Aber wo kommen die Features, Epics und Stories eigentlich her? Wie kann man eine agile Innovationskultur aufbauen und sicherstellen, dass man immer genügend gute Ideen in der Pipe hat?

In diesem Workshop schauen wir uns den Upstream an – den Prozess und die Methoden, die uns helfen kundenzentrierte Anforderungen zu identifizieren und Ressourcen schonend aufzubereiten.

Du lernst, Anforderungen kundengerecht zu identifizieren und betrachtest die Wünschbarkeit – was will mein Kunde eigentlich? Danach betrachtest Du die Wirtschaftlichkeit der guten Ideen und lernst, wie man in der agilen Welt ein Geschäftsmodell entwirft. Schließlich schaust Du Dir die Machbarkeit an, lernst Strategien der Prototypisierung kennen und entwirfst iterativ ein MVP – Minimum Viable Product. Zur Visualisierung lernst Du Upstream-Kanban zu nutzen und steuerst so den gesamten Innovationsprozess.

 

LEAN Thinking – Agile Mindset – eine Denkwerkstatt

LEAN Agile Thinking stellt das konventionelle Verständnis von Planung, Vorhersage und Führung buchstäblich auf den Kopf.

In dieser Denkwerkstatt wird die Essenz des Lean Thinking, der schlanken und lernenden Organisation und das daraus abgeleitete agile Mindset intensiv betrachtet. New Work, Agilität und Selbstorganisation sind keine Methoden, sondern eine Haltung.

Wir betrachten, was LEAN Prinzipien eigentlich sind und wie sie in einer Organisation zum Ausdruck kommen. Wir betrachten das Systemdenken, weil lokale Optimierung meist zu globaler Sub-Optimierung führt. Wir vergleichen Kundenorientierung mit Kundenzentrierung und denken über die Wertschöpfung in der Organisation nach. Wir durchleuchten die Faktoren, die unsere Organisation zu einer lernenden Organisation machen, beschäftigen uns mit dem effizienten Einsatz von Ressourcen, sowie evolutionärer und plötzlicher Veränderung. Wir lernen Methoden kennen, die wir sofort aktiv in der eigenen Orga einsetzen können – von Structured Problem Solving, über Visual Management bis zur Value-Stream und Workflow Modellierung.