Flight Levels Academy

FLIGHT LEVELS combine strategy with agile execution

What is FLIGHT LEVELS?

In many agile organisations we come across four similar problems again and again:

1. despite of agile teams, completion and delivery to the customer takes forever.
2. there are constant dependencies that make the teams wait for each other.
3. priorities are either constantly changing or everything is equally important. It is simply not clear what to work on next.
4. milestones, quality gates and classic key figures are reported and roadmaps are planned for years – the agile methods have to serve classic thinking.

FLIGHT LEVELS make work in organisations visible, controllable and measurable and help to make the flow of work between teams manageable and predictable. From strategy to implementation, the levels are interlinked and help the organisation to focus on the right issues.

We understand FLIGHT LEVELS as the third wave of agility.

The first wave was about team agility. Individual teams were optimised with agile methods and trimmed for performance. When it was realised that local optimisations did not necessarily improve the overall result, the second wave began to scale the agile principles. Agile-at-scale in the form of SaFE, LeSS, mOre and the Spotify model led to huge transformation projects, which, however, often did not result in any significant performance improvement of the overall organisations.

In the third wave, we now look at the overall organisations: not the individual parts or methods on the hierarchical levels, but the agile interactions between the units on all levels.

Operational, coordination and strategy

LEVEL 1 … manages the operational work. This is where WORK ITEMS are completed and delivered.

LEVEL 2 … models the flow of WORK through the organisation and coordinates the collaboration of teams, units and organisations to translate ACTION ITEMS into customer value.

LEVEL 3 … this is where strategy becomes strategy work. In regular cycles and iterations, STRATEGY ITEMS are defined, reviewed, challenged and translated into ACTION ITEMS that are operationalised in the organisation.

So please take your seats and fasten your seatbelts.

The FLIGHT LEVELS workshop programme

The FLIGHT LEVELS workshop programme offers practice-oriented units in which the necessary knowledge is imparted and at the same time applied in a goal-oriented way. We deal with the flow of work through the organisation, whether for tribes, departments or product teams or overall organisationally for many units and their interaction. We design agile interactions to enable organisations to achieve real BUSINESS AGILITY.

FLIN - FLIGHT LEVELS INTRODUCTION

The introduction to the world of FLIGHT LEVELS. In this online course we explain the basic concepts of the flight level model. Using a practical example, we derive the core ideas and concepts and explain which challenges can be overcome with FLIGHT LEVELS. Despite extensive agile transformations, the performance of many organisations is not increased – on the contrary – they often become slower. With FLIGHT LEVELS we “wire” the (agile) individual pieces into an agile overall organisation.

FLIN is an online course that depends on your time and availability. It takes about half a day of work and can be attended at any time. The ticket for the first round trip is available here: FLIGHT LEVELS INTRODUCTION (FLIN)

FLFD - FLIGHT LEVELS FLOW DESIGN

In the Flow Design Workshop we use the 5 Flight Levels Activities to visualise, initiate and maintain the flow of communication and information between multiple Flight Levels systems. We consider dependency management, prioritisation techniques and success measurement strategies to continuously improve our organisation.

After the workshop, you will be able to create Flight Level 2 Boards – boards to coordinate the work of 30 to 300 people – across teams, products and/or services, manage interdependencies and systematically improve the performance of entire parts of the value chain.

FLCL - FLIGHT LEVELS CHANGE LEADERSHIP

Once you coordinate the work of multiple teams on Flight Level 2, you will experience the dynamics of large groups. Connecting many flight level systems will challenge your facilitation and organisational skills. In the FLCS workshop we work on the skills to improve the work with small and large groups, to understand their dynamics and to deal with them constructively and productively in workshops.

The first three workshops provide a solid foundation for truly mastering flight level systems. Afterwards, you will be able to orchestrate the collaboration of 30 to 300 people in an organisation and master their interdependencies. Through your acquired coaching skills you will be able to support others in working with their Flight Levels System. This makes you a real FLIGHT LEVELS FLOW ENABLER.

FLSA - FLIGHT LEVELS SYSTEMS ARCHITECTURE

In the FLSA workshop you will learn how to connect flight level 1, 2 and 3 systems and how to create effective interactions between the levels. You will learn how and where to start with the introduction of flight level systems so that changes in the organisation are as disruption-free as possible and how to set focus with regard to many teams and departments.

We see organisations as a network of many different FLIGHT LEVELS systems. The goal is to sooner or later connect all these systems so that strategic decisions reach the operational level in real time. Which flight level systems are needed in the organisation and who decides which workflows run on which routes through the organisation? You network the systems at all three flight levels and design simulations that provide insight into how the interactions between these systems can be improved. This makes you a ​FLIGHT LEVELS SYSTEMS ARCHITECT.

Flight Levels System Architect
Certified Flight Levels Coach

CERTIFIED FLIGHT LEVELS COACH

Once the decision has been made to improve the operational organisation of an entire company through the application of the FLIGHT LEVELS concept, change is on the horizon. As a FLIGHT LEVELS Coach, you know the specifics of the systems at the different FLIGHT LEVELS. You know how FLIGHT LEVELS architectures are designed and rolled out, how the flow of information between FLIGHT LEVELS is established and how changes are best communicated to achieve business agility for the whole organisation. As an FLC, you support groups in building their FLIGHT LEVELS systems and offer a wealth of empathy and reflection to guide others in this process – top managers as well as large groups and individual team members.

CERTIFIED FLIGHT LEVELS GUIDE

If you are already working as a coach and can show us your extensive experience with Flight Levels, you can consider getting certified as a Flight Levels Guide by the Flight Levels Academy. This is a very personal training: The Flight Levels Academy will select an FLA Guide who is a good fit for you. Together you will prepare and conduct each of your workshops. Upon successful completion, you will be authorised to offer Flight Levels Academy workshops and issue the corresponding certificates.

Certified Flight Levels Guide

Flight Levels Academy
FLIGHT LEVELS verbinden die Strategie mit der agilen Ausführung
Was sind FLIGHT LEVELS?
In vielen agilen Organisationen stoßen wir immer wieder auf vier ähnliche Probleme:

1. Trotz agiler Teams dauert die Fertigstellung und Auslieferung an die Kunden ewig.
2. Dauernd treten Abhängigkeiten auf, die die Teams aufeinander warten lassen.
3. Prioritäten verändern sich entweder dauernd oder alles ist gleich wichtig. Es ist einfach nicht klar, woran als nächstes gearbeitet werden soll.
4. Es werden Meilensteinen, Quality Gates und klassische Kennzahlen berichtet und Roadmaps über Jahre geplant – die agilen Methoden müssen klassisches Denken bedienen.

FLIGHT LEVELS machen Arbeit in Organisationen sicht-, steuer- und messbar und helfen den Fluss der Arbeit zwischen Teams beherrsch- und vorhersagbar zu machen. Von der Strategie bis zur Umsetzung sind die Levels miteinander verknüpft und helfen der Organisation sich auf die richtigen Themen zu konzentrieren.

Wir verstehen unter FLIGHT LEVELS die dritte Welle der Agilität.

In der ersten Welle ging es um Team Agilität. Einzelne Teams wurden mit agilen Methoden optimiert und auf Leistungsfähigkeit getrimmt. Als man feststellte, dass lokale Optimierungen nicht zwingend auch das Gesamtergebnis verbesserten, begann man in der zweiten Welle die agilen Prinzipien zu skalieren. Agile-at-Scale in Form von SaFE, LeSS, mOre und dem Spotify-Modell führten zu riesigen Transformationsprojekten, die aber häufig auch keine nennenswerten Leistungssteigerung der Gesamtorganisationen nach sich zogen. In der dritten Welle schauen wir nun die Gesamtorganisationen an: nicht die einzelnen Teile oder Methoden auf den Hierarchie-Ebenen, sondern die agilen Interaktionen zwischen den Einheiten auf allen Levels.

Operative, Koordination und Strategie

LEVEL 1 .. managed die operative Arbeit. Hier werden WORK ITEMS fertig gestellt und ausgeliefert.

LEVEL 2 .. modelliert den ARBEITSFLUSS durch die Organisation und koordiniert die Zusammenarbeit von Teams, Einheiten und Organisationen, um ACTION ITEMS in Kundenwert zu übersetzen.

LEVEL 3 .. hier wird Strategie zur Strategiearbeit. In regelmäßigen Zyklen und Iterationen werden STRATEGY ITEMS definiert, überprüft, hinterfragt und in ACTION ITEMS übersetzt, die in der Organisation operationalisiert werden.

Also: Bitte nehmt Eure Plätze ein und schnallt Euch an.
Das FLIGHT LEVELS Workshop Programm
Das FLIGHT LEVELS Workshop Programm bietet praxisorientierte Einheiten, in denen das notwendige Wissen vermittelt und gleichzeitig zielführend angewendet wird. Wir beschäftigen uns mit dem Flow der Arbeit durch die Organisation, egal, ob für Tribes, Abteilungen oder Produktteams oder gesamtorganisatorisch für viele Einheiten und deren Zusammenspiel. Wir gestalten agile Interaktionen, um den Organisationen die Erreichung wirklicher BUSINESS AGILITY zu ermöglichen.

FLIN - FLIGHT LEVELS INTRODUCTION

Der Einstieg in die Welt der FLIGHT LEVELS. In diesem online Kurs erklären wir die Grundbegriffe des Flight Level Modells. Anhand eines praktischen Beispiels leiten wir die Kerngedanken und -konzepte her und erklären bei welchen Fragestellungen der richtige Lösungsansatz sein können. Trotz umfangreicher agiler Transformationen wird die Leistungsfähigkeit vieler Organisationen nämlich nicht gesteigert – im Gegenteil – oft werden sie langsamer. Mit FLIGHT LEVELS „verdrahten“ wir die (agilen) Einzelstücke zu einer agilen Gesamtorganisation.

FLIN ist ein online Kurs, der sich nach Eurer Zeit und Verfügbarkeit richtet. Er umfasst etwa einen halben Tag an Arbeit und kann jederzeit besucht werden. Das Ticket für den ersten Rundflug gibt’s hier: FLIGHT LEVELS INTRODUCTION (FLIN)

FLFD - FLIGHT LEVELS FLOW DESIGN

Im Flow Design Workshop nutzen wir die 5 Flight Levels Activities, um den Kommunikations- und Informationsfluss zwischen mehreren Flight Levels Systemen zu visualisieren, zu initiieren und aufrecht zu halten. Dabei berücksichtigen wir das Management von Abhängigkeiten, Techniken der Priorisierung und Strategien der Erfolgsmessung, um unsere Organisation kontinuierlich zu verbessern.
Nach dem Workshop kannst Du Flight Level 2 Boards – also Boards zur Koordination der Arbeit von 30 bis 300 Personen  – über Teams, Produkte und/oder Dienstleistungen hinweg erstellen, wirst Abhängigkeiten managen und damit die Leistung ganzer Teile der Wertschöpfungskette systematisch verbessern können.

FLCS - FLIGHT LEVELS COACHING SKILLS

Sobald Du auf Flight Level 2 die Arbeit mehrerer Teams koordinierst, erlebst Du die Dynamik von großer Gruppen. Das Verbinden vieler Flight Levels Systeme wird Deine Fähigkeiten in der Moderation und Organisation herausfordern. Im FLCS Workshop arbeiten wir an den Fähigkeiten die Arbeit mit kleinen und großen Gruppen zu verbessern, deren Dynamik zu verstehen und in Workshops konstruktiv und produktiv mit ihnen umzugehen.
Die ersten drei Workshops bilden die solide Grundlage, um Flight Levels Systeme wirklich zu beherrschen. Danach kannst Du die Zusammenarbeit von 30 bis 300 Personen in einer Organisation orchestrieren und deren Abhängigkeiten beherrschen. Durch Deine erworbenen Coaching-Fähigkeiten bist Du in der Lage andere bei der Arbeit mit ihren Flight Levels System zu unterstützen. Das macht Dich zu einem echten FLIGHT LEVELS FLOW ENABLER.

FLSA - FLIGHT LEVELS SYSTEMS ARCHITECTURE

Im FLSA Workshop lernst Du, wie man Flight Level 1,2 und 3 Systeme miteinander verbindet und wie man effektive Interaktionen zwischen den Levels gestaltet. Du lernst wie und wo man mit der Einführung von Flight Levels Systemen startet, damit Veränderungen in der Organisation möglichst störungsfrei verlaufen und wie man im Hinblick auf viele Teams und Abteilungen Fokus setzt.
Wir betrachten Organisationen als ein Netzwerk aus vielen verschiedenen Flight Levels Systemen. Ziel ist es, früher oder später alle diese Systeme zu verbinden, damit strategische Entscheidungen in Echtzeit die operative Ebene erreichen. Welche Flight Levels Systeme werden in der Organisation benötigt, und wer entscheidet, welche Workflows auf welchen Routen durch die Organisation laufen? Du vernetzt die Systeme auf allen drei Flight Levels und entwirfst Simulationen, die Aufschluss darüber geben, wie die Interaktionen zwischen diesen Systemen verbessert werden können. Das macht Dich zu einem FLIGHT LEVELS SYSTEMS ARCHITECT.
Flight Levels System Architect
Certified Flight Levels Coach
CERTIFIED FLIGHT LEVELS COACH

Sobald die Entscheidung getroffen ist, die betriebliche Organisation eines ganzen Unternehmens durch die Anwendung des Flight Levels Konzepts zu verbessern, steht die Veränderung an. Als Flight Levels Coach kennst Du die Spezifika der Systeme auf den verschiedenen Flight Levels. Du weißt, wie Flight Levels-Architekturen entworfen und ausgerollt werden, wie der Informationsfluss zwischen den Flight Levels etabliert und wie Veränderungen am besten kommuniziert werden, um Business Agility für die gesamte Organisation zu erreichen. Als FLC unterstützt Du Gruppen beim Aufbau ihrer Flight Levels Systeme und bietest eine Fülle von Empathie- und Reflexionsmöglichkeiten an, um andere in diesem Prozess zu begleiten – Topmanager ebenso wie große Gruppen und einzelne Teammitglieder.

CERTIFIED FLIGHT LEVELS GUIDE

Wenn Du bereits als Coach arbeitest und uns Deine umfangreiche Erfahrung mit Flight Levels nachweisen kannst, kannst Du in Erwägung ziehen, Dich von der Flight Levels Academy zum Flight Levels Guide zertifizieren zu lassen. Das ist eine sehr persönliche Ausbildung: Die Flight Levels Academy wird einen FLA-Guide auswählen, der gut zu Dir passt. Gemeinsam werdet ihr jeden eurer Workshops vorbereiten und durchführen. Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss bist Du berechtigt, Workshops der Flight Levels Academy anzubieten und die entsprechenden Zertifikate auszustellen.

Certified Flight Levels Guide